S1E5 (Pressure Test) – Texas Chili

Employment Status: 3 Job Applications, 3 E-mails, 1 Desperate LinkedIn Message

As a result of the Red Team’s loss, the team members were put into a pressure test. The object of the test was to correctly identify as many of the 20 different ingredients that Graham used to make his Texas Chili as possible. Jenna, only able to identify seven ingredients before incorrectly stating that it included chili powder, was eliminated.

Screen Shot 2013-09-30 at 6.08.32 PM Screen Shot 2013-09-30 at 6.18.25 PM

For those of you that are interested in recreating Graham’s Texas Chili, I managed to find his complete recipe here.

But I wanted to create my own version, using just these 20 ingredients:

  • 2 Teaspoons of Olive Oil20131004-192147.jpg
  • 1 Pound of Ground Turkey
  • 1 Yellow Onion, Chopped
  • 1 Green Bell Pepper, Chopped
  • 3 Celery Stalks, Chopped
  • 1 Jalapeño, Chopped
  • 4 Cloves of Garlic, Minced
  • 2 Cups of Chicken Broth
  • Tomatoes – I used one 15-ounce can of crushed tomatoes, one 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes, and one 6-ounce can of tomato paste but you can use whatever combination makes sense for you
  • 16 Ounces of Kidney Beans
  • 15 Ounces of Black Beans
  • 6.5 Ounces of Corn
  • 2 Tablespoons of Chili powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon each of Parsley, Oregano, Cumin, Paprika, Cayenne Pepper, Salt, Pepper

To start I just heated the oil up in a pot and then added the turkey, celery, bell pepper, onion, garlic, and jalapeño.

20131004-192027.jpg

I cooked this until the turkey was cooked through and then added the chicken broth, crushed tomatoes, beans, corn, herbs and spices. I brought it all to a boil and let it simmer for 30 minutes. To serve, I garnished it with sour cream, green onions, and shredded cheddar cheese. (See finished product below).

20131004-192034.jpg 20131004-192048.jpg

This dish worked really great. It’s also something that would work great as a crock pot meal.

And for a bonus recipe, this is what I plan on making this weekend: Chicken Gnocchi Soup. I have made this before and it is great! I finally tried my hand at homemade gnocchi a couple weeks ago using this recipe from Martha Stewart: Simple Potato Gnocchi. It worked out great (see picture below) but it made a TON of gnocchi. I froze about half of it and plan on using it in the soup instead of the prepackaged version the recipe calls for. I’m hoping it works.

20131004-192234.jpg

Thanks to everyone who has been reading my blog. This has been a lot of fun for me and I have really enjoyed having the distraction. I’ll be conquering two more episodes next week so be sure to come back then to see what I cook next.

Leave a Reply

