S1E6 (Mystery Box) – Cupcakes

Employment Update: 1 Job Application, 3 New Opportunities, 4 E-mails, 2 Desperate LinkedIn Connection Requests

This week’s Mystery Box challenge was very straightforward: make one great cupcake in 45 minutes. You could use any ingredients provided on the table below – what they claimed to be anything that you could ever need to make a great cupcake.

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 2.08.21 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 2.10.43 PM

A lot of people struggled with this challenge (even Tracey who claimed to be a fantastic baker). But Jake (Chocolate Lovers Delight), Whitney (Coconut), and Sharone (Hazelnut & Pistachio) were declared the top three. Sharone was declared the ultimate winner though.

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 2.13.44 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 2.17.39 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 2.15.38 PM

For my cupcakes, I decided to do a Honey Banana Cupcake with Nutella-Chocolate Ganache. I am not really a baker so I just followed this recipe completely. The only thing I did a little differently was add a pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the cupcake batter. (See finished product below).

20131008-151034.jpg

The cupcakes turned out great! And they definitely took less than 45 minutes to make. The ganache I made never set up properly (probably because I got the proportions wrong with the half recipe). I was able to get it so it would sort of stay on top (see below) but it looked atrocious. So I decided to just quickly melt some chocolate with a smidge of cream and honey to B.S. a quick ganache-like topping, which I garnished with powdered sugar to add some sweetness. (The second image below would have been what I presented to the judges).

20131008-151042.jpg 20131008-151049.jpg

Seeing how poorly some of the other contestants did with this challenge, I think my cupcakes would have fared just fine (even with the ganache failure). The only problem was that I had to pay very close attention to the recipe. If I had actually been in this challenge, I’m not entirely sure that I would have been able to come up with the correct proportions without it. Looks like I’ll have to seriously practice my baking skills before trying to go on the show!

Leave a Reply

