S1E7 (Team Challenge) – Hamburgers for Truckers

Employment Update: YAY! Something good finally happened. Today, I was offered a temporary position as an event manager for Churchill Downs. I’ll be moving to Louisville next week and will be there until the end of November. I don’t know how much free time I’ll have but I will definitely keep posting as often as I can. 

This week’s team challenge asked the chefs to serve great hamburgers to 100 truck drivers for a gourmet truck stop lunch. Because the teams had to grind the meat themselves, they both stuck with fairly straightforward beef burgers.

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 3.00.49 PM

The Red Team made a beef burger with bacon, grilled onions, blue cheese and chipotle barbecue sauce. The Blue Team made a simple beef burger topped with tomato, onion, lettuce and coleslaw. While the red team ran into issues early, their choice to soak their buns in bacon grease before toasting them played well with the truck drivers, winning them the challenge.

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 3.12.11 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 3.14.00 PM

For my burger, I wanted to do something just a tad more adventurous and settled on a beef burger with gouda, roasted red peppers, grilled red onions, spinach, bacon and garlic aioli. I originally wanted to do a lamb burger but my grocery store did not have any ground lamb.

The first thing I did was make the aioli using this recipe. Then, I cooked 1 slice of bacon in a pan. When it was done, I took it out to save for later and then lightly grilled the red onions in the leftover bacon grease. When they were done, I set them off to the side and started to prep the rest. To make the burger, I mixed the ground beef with fresh chopped parsley, oregano, cumin, sambal oelek, salt, pepper, seasoned bread crumbs and the egg white left over from the aioli. Then, I shaped the patty and threw it in the same pan that I cooked the bacon and onions in. While the burger was grilling, I placed the gouda cheese on one side of the bun and lightly toasted both sides under the broiler. When the bun and burger were done cooking, I layered on the garlic aioli, onions, roasted red peppers, fresh spinach and bacon. (See finished product below).

20131009-201416.jpg

The burger was delicious although I do think that it would work better with lamb (which was my original plan). I’m not sure how it would have played with the trucker crowd but it was definitely an awesome burger.

2 thoughts on “S1E7 (Team Challenge) – Hamburgers for Truckers

Leave a Reply

