S1E10 (Elimination) – Dessert: Vanilla

Employment Status: 1 Job Application, 6 Follow-Up E-mails

Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 11.31.17 AM

As the winner of the Mystery Box challenge, Sheetal was able to pick the main ingredient for the dessert challenge. She selected vanilla for all of the chefs to work with. Sharone (Mille-Feuille with Mixed Nuts) and Whitney (Profiteroles with Chantilly Cream) were in the top two, with Whitney’s dish being declared as the winner.

 Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 11.40.15 AM   Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 11.43.29 AM

The bottom three were Sheetal (Vanilla Custard), Lee (Bourbon Pain Perdu) and Mike (Poached Pear Trifle), with Mike being the chef to be sent home for serving raw eggs to the judges.

Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 11.45.24 AM   Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 11.46.16 AM Screen Shot 2013-10-28 at 11.47.07 AM

For my rendition of this challenge, I decided to do a Vanilla-Coconut Panna Cotta with a Mixed Berry Compote and Candied Lemon Zest. Since I have never made any of these components, I used these recipes as my guide:

Vanilla Panna Cotta

Mixed Berry Compote

Candied Lemon Zest

Aside from halving the recipes, I pretty much followed their directions exactly save for two key things: I substituted coconut milk for whole milk in the panna cotta recipe, and I added a splash of pineapple juice and a pinch of sea salt to the berry compote.

20131029-194529.jpg

Vanilla-Coconut Panna Cotta with Mixed Berry Compote & Candied Lemon Zest

Everything worked out with this really well, but the lemon zest could have been cooked a little more. It was a little chewy for my taste. Aside from that though, this dessert was delicious. The one downfall for me was how closely I had to adhere to the recipe. However, seeing how poorly most people did in this challenge, I think I would have been safe.

One thought on “S1E10 (Elimination) – Dessert: Vanilla

  1. Good on you for trying new things! I fail terribly at desserts. I’d probably have gone with a vanilla creme brûlée, although I still haven’t mastered getting the sugar to ‘crack’ yet. Even with a blowtorch!!

Leave a Reply

