S2E18 (Team) – International Judges

For the last team challenge of the season, the top 4 were divided in two teams and cooked a dish for 3 judges from international versions of MasterChef: Kunal Kapoor (India), Sébastien Demorand (France) and Michal Ansky (Israel). They had 90 minutes to create a dish from the best produce, meat and seafood that America has to offer.

Suzy and Christian decided to do a dish that they called an upscale Thanksgiving dish with duck, sweet potato and raspberry coulis.

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 3.20.18 PM

Adrien and Jennifer decided to do a dish that showcased the best items from both coasts. It consisted of roasted corn, avocado and maine lobster with spot prawns, blood orange and red pepper coulis.

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 3.24.19 PM

Both teams had several issues with their dishes but the Blue Team worked together better, giving them the win. This sent Suzy and Christian into the pressure test.

I decided to do something fairly straightforward with some fresh, in-season ingredients, so I designed a dish with a boneless butterfly pork loin chop, roasted parsnips, red and golden beets, and a white wine-honey dijon cream sauce.

The first thing I did was prep the beets and parsnips. I thinly sliced them and laid them out on a baking sheet. Then, I drizzled them with olive oil and sprinkled salt and pepper over the top. I put them in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. However, I think I still haven’t quite figured out my new oven, because when I checked them at 15 minutes, the red beets were starting to burn. I was able to pull them out before too much damage was done, but definitely watch them carefully if you do them yourself.

20140406-205439.jpg   20140406-205445.jpg

Next, I put together the sauce. I started by melting 2 tablespoons of butter with some minced garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. Then, I added 1-2 tablespoons of flour and let the mixture cook together for about a minute. I then added in about 3/4 of a cup of white wine, 1/4 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of honey dijon, and the juice of 1/2 of a lemon. I let this simmer for several minutes, while I went to work on the pork chops.

20140406-205452.jpg   20140406-205507.jpg   20140406-205514.jpg

For the pork, I kept it very simple. I lightly coated each chop in flour, paprika, salt and pepper and put them in a hot pan with olive oil and butter. I cooked them for 3-5 minutes per side until they were cooked all the way through. I served the pork on a bed of roasted beets and parsnips with a side of the dijon-wine cream sauce.

20140406-205521.jpg

Overall, the dish was great. The pork and beets were delicious and (almost) perfectly cooked. The flavors were simple and straightforward but fresh and tasty. The sauce got a little too thick for my liking and it definitely had a unique flavor. I’m, honestly, still not sure how I feel about the sauce. It tasted good with the pork, but there were some very strong flavors that didn’t pair quite as perfectly as I would have hoped. But it was a good, simple dish that I will take another stab at soon.

 

One thought on “S2E18 (Team) – International Judges

  1. Thank you for your message, and yes I am following. blessings to you!, and Thank you SO much and greetings… 🙂

Leave a Reply

